Aatmnirbhar Bharat,  Aazadi ka Amrut Mahostav Logos
MoHU, Smart Cities and Smart City Smart Urbanization Logos
Swachch Bharat Mission Logos

Event Day 01 - April 18, 2022

An awards distribution ceremony was organised on first day, during the inaugural wherein award winners of the India Smart Cities Awards Contest (ISAC) 2020 were felicitated. These awards were earlier announced through virtual conference in 2021. However, the award distribution ceremony was deferred due to the prevailing COVID-19 situation at that time. Surat and Indore were given the Best city award, while Uttar Pradesh was awarded the Best State.

Shri Hardeep Singh Puri, Union Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs was the chief guest at the event. Shri Bhupendrabhai Patel, Chief Minister of Gujarat addressed the gathering through a Video Message. Union Minister of State for Housing and Urban Affairs Shri Kaushal Kishore, Union Minister of State for Railways Ms Darshana Jardosh, Shri Vinod Moradiya, Minister of Urban development and urban housing, Government of Gujarat, Dr Audimulapu Suresh, Minister of Education, Andhra Pradesh, Shri C.R. Patil, MP, and Smt. Hemali Kalpeshkumar Boghawala, Mayor, Surat took part in the inaugural session. All key urban stakeholders from Central and State Governments joined the event, including inter alia, Secretary, MoHUA Shri Manoj Joshi, Principal Secretaries of States/UTs, Municipal Commissioners of Cities, MDs/CEOs of 100 Smart Cities, State Level Nodal Agencies/ Mission Directorates, professionals, industry representatives, media, and members of academia also attended the event, which highlighted some of the important initiatives being implemented in 100 Smart Cities.

The event also featured release of Urban Outcomes Framework 2022 including, 'Ease of Living', 'Municipal Performance Index', 'Data Maturity and ClimateSmart Cities Assessment Framework'. Ministry's integrated data portal AMPLIFI, which will provide valuable data about Indian cities, was also launched. Further, Smart Cities Mission also launched a comprehensive dashboard with Outcome Output Management Framework (OOMF) dashboard in GMIS during the event.

The opening day of the 'Smart Cities Smart Urbanization' mega conclave showcased various interactive activities, arranged interactions with eminent speakers and learnings across the 5 themes vis. Reimagining Public Spaces, Digital Governance, ClimateSmart Cities, Innovation and Smart Finance, for over 1000+ participants registered from across the country. The dignitaries took a tour of the five thematic pavilions exhibited at the venue. These five themes demonstrated the variety of urban projects being developed in the Smart Cities.

List of winning Smart Cities under ISAC 2020

Project Award: Theme-wise Winners/ Joint-winners
Social Aspects
  1. Tirupati: Health Benchmark for Municipal Schools
  2. Bhubaneshwar: Socially Smart Bhubaneswar
  3. Tumakuru: Digital Library Solution
  1. Vadodara: GIS
  2. Thane: Digi Thane
  3. Bhubaneswar: ME app

Joint Winners (Indore and Chandigarh)

  1. Indore: Conservation of Heritage & Chandigarh: Capitol Complex, Heritage Project
  1. Gwalior: Digital Museum
Urban Environment

Joint Winners (Bhopal and Chennai)

  1. Bhopal: Clean energy & Chennai: Restoration of water bodies
  1. Tirupati - Renewable Energy Generation

Joint Winners (Tirupati and Indore)

  1. Tirupati: Bioremediation & Bio-Mining & Indore: Municipal Waste Management System
  1. Surat: Conservation through Treated Wastewater
  1. Indore: Carbon Credit Financing Mechanism

Joint Second (Tirupati and Agra)

  1. Tirupati: Boost Local Identity & Economy through Design Studio
  2. Agra: Micro Skill Development Centre
Built Environment
  1. Indore: Chappan Dukan
  2. Surat: Canal Corridor
  3. Erode: Micro-compost Centre

Joint Winners (Dehradun and Varanasi)

  1. Dehradun: Smart Water Metering Water ATM
  2. Varanasi: Eco-Restoration of Assi River
  3. Surat: Integrated and Sustainable Water Supply System
Sustainable Business Model of ICCC Agartala ICCC
Urban Mobility
  1. Aurangabad: Majhi Smart Bus
  2. Surat: Dynamic Scheduling Buses
  3. Ahmedabad: Man-less parking system and automatic ticket dispensing machines AMDA Park
Innovation Award
Innovative Idea Award Indore: Carbon Credit Financing Mechanism
Covid Innovation Award Joint Winners: Kalyan-Dombivali & Varanasi
Covid Innovation Award
(round-wise winners)
Round 1: Chennai
Round 3: Bengaluru
Round 4: Saharanpur
City Award
Overall Winner Joint Winners: Indore & Surat
Round 1
(round-wise recognition)
  1. Jabalpur
Round 2+FT
(round-wise recognition)
  1. Agra
  2. Tirupati
  3. Varanasi
Round 3
(round-wise recognition)
  1. Dehradun
  2. Sagar
  3. Tirunelveli
Round 4
(round-wise recognition)
  1. Erode

List of winners under the State/UT Award category

State Award
State Award
  1. Uttar Pradesh
  2. Madhya Pradesh
  3. Tamil Nadu
UT Award
UT Award
  1. Chandigarh

List of winners under the Smart Cities Leadership Award

Smart Cities Leadership Award
  1. Ahmedabad
  2. Varanasi
  3. Ranchi